Chronic illness, faith, family, hope, encouragment, life

Be An OVERCOMER!

I don’t even know where to begin with my story.  Obviously, it’s been a long time since I posted anything.  Honestly, it’s been a long time since I’ve been motivated to anything at all.   Being chronically ill finally gave way to being chronically depressed.  Anyone who suffers from a chronic illness, no matter what it might be, probably knows where I’m coming from with the depression.  It’s like a huge black pit just opens up and swallows you whole. 

When I was a little girl, my Grandpa used to operate a huge machine called a dragline. It was almost like 2 giant metal shovels that looked like claws.  He ran the “claws” from inside a cab.  What he was doing was digging huge holes so that the rocks and gravel could be loaded and taken to the “plant” where the rest of the work was done.  You may have heard of Sakrete before.  Well, that’s pretty much where it started.  Obviously, once he got out all the goods from one hole, he would leave it and go start on another one.  We used to love to go visit him while he was working because he would let us hop up there with him and look out the front window and see the huge holes he was digging.  They  never really seemed scary though because we were always looking down into them and knew that we safe with our Grandpa. 

One day, as I was driving back “home” to see my Mama, it hit me just how many “pits” were scattered around.  Huge open places in the earth that you wouldn’t want to get to close to for fear of falling in.  Now that I’m older, I don’t have my Grandpa sitting there in a dragline waiting to let me look out over the big pits.  But don’t get me wrong.  I’m still dealing with pits in my life, only this time they are my own little pits that I dug for myself when I found out about my health problems. 

That’s what I had been dealing with for so long and why I haven’t written anything on here for a while.  But I also changed the title of my blog as well.  It’s now called “overcome”.  I will be sharing my story on here of how I finally let God PULL me up out my own pit of self-pity,

 

2 thoughts on “Be An OVERCOMER!”

  1. Glad to hear about your climbing out of the pits. I remember those real pits from my days working at BV Hedrick while in college. They were deep and the pits of depression, for what ever reason, can be just as deep if not deeper. So I know that it was a struggle to climb out as the wall of security kept collapsing and letting you fall back in. Keep up the great work and praise God for his healing power and your obedience to his guidance.

Leave a Reply

